thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Spring Days

Leave a comment

outside selfie
buds
easter egg hunt 12
easter egg hunt 4
window

Spring is moving along, finally feeling like it is here to stay, despite some chilly and rainy days scattered here and there. But it does get easier to get out of bed each morning, with everything outside being so new and fresh. As the days pass, my pregnancy is also getting a bit easier. I have felt a return of some energy, and my constant nausea has eased up some, though not left completely.

The results of some blood work ordered by my midwife revealed that I was very low in vitamin D. I should not have been surprised, given that I tend to struggle to get enough of this vitamin, and we did have an especially long and difficult winter that kept me indoors. Since taking extra D daily, and making an effort to eat certain foods that will help, I have felt a definite shift for the better. I am finding my daily motivation much more easily, my mood is better, and my husband has even noticed, and said I seem a bit more like myself.

Simon and I have been on a big reading kick lately. We are a family that is very fond of books all of the time, but lately, even with the increased time we have been spending outdoors, we have been reading even more. At the library last week Simon discovered a particular comic book, which he will spend an hour or more at a time poring over silently. We just finished our second chapter book read-aloud together in the Beverly Cleary series about Ralph mouse, and he is eager to get started on the third. He asks me all the time to read to him “our Ralph book”. Of course, there are also always piles of picture books to read together as well. Having his Mom work on the Children’s floor of the library is a definite perk for Simon.

As for me, well there are books on pregnancy and childbirth that I am reading and re-reading. A couple of my favorites include Your Best Birth by Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein, and Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin. Both of those are books that I read when pregnant the first time around, and they inspired me so much that I had to read them again this time. I am also currently enjoying Gentle Birth Choices by Barbara Harper. I have many more on my to-read list before this baby arrives. Of course, I am also reading non-birth related books as well. I always have a small stack of three to six books in progress.

We have been going outside whenever possible, and Simon and I both even got little sunburns on our noses last week. I have been working to remove grass and weeds for another section of the garden, and discovered that I have peonies growing. On Easter, the weather was beautiful enough for an egg hunt, and Simon loved it so much that he wanted to hide and find eggs over and over again. I believe we had dozens and dozens of egg hunts that week, both inside and out. It feels terrific to be able to throw open the windows and let in the fresh air and sunshine most days. The cats are loving that part too, as they growl and chatter at the birds and squirrels.

My to-do list is quite overwhelming right now, with spring cleaning, Simon’s birthday approaching, home renovations, and a garden to discover and care for. Despite the clutter, the projects, and the pregnancy related tiredness, it feels so good to be spending our first spring season in our new home.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

