thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Peace Offering

1 Comment

work in progress november 2013
work in progress november 2013 2
work in progress november 2013 3
Peace Offering
I managed to find some time, in the hubbub of daily life a few weeks ago, to set up a bit of our studio, dust the rust off my paint brushes, and paint this piece. I went into this with a quick sketch, and just allowed it to evolve on the canvas. I intentionally tried to be less controlling, and just see what the piece became. I had no idea, when I set out, that there would be birds, or a house and a sofa. At one point there was a heart in her hair, but I ended up covering it. Sometimes, I scribbled.

It has been a very long time since I painted in this way, and it was wonderful. I found myself sneaking off to my studio for a minute here, five minutes there, to add something to it. I don’t think I have ever completed a painting so quickly.

As is the way with me, I look at it now and find all of the things I feel are “wrong” about it. I could have tried to use more realism, I could have looked at a real feather for reference, I could have composed it a bit differently, etc. But, really, whatever the outcome, the experience was so fulfilling that it doesn’t really matter. At the end of the day, art is something I do for myself, for my own personal expression. If I don’t enjoy the actual making of it, if I get to caught up in the product, than it isn’t worth doing.

“Peace Offering”
Acrylic and Pastel on Canvas

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

One thought on “Peace Offering

  1. Pingback: Work In Progress: Hummingbirds | K Lord Art

Leave a Reply

