thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Preschool Lunch

3 Comments

Simon now stays at his preschool two hours longer than before, and is part of what they call “Lunch Bunch”. He absolutely loves having the extra time to play and learn, and having lunch with his friends.

As for me, I find it so strange to be packing a school lunch for my three-year-old. It feels like he is still a baby in many ways, and school lunches seem like a big kid thing. The difference in time is only two hours, and yet I found myself teary-eyed all over again the first day he stayed longer. He is growing up fast!

I am also trying to have a little fun packing his lunches, and have decided to share them here with you. These are the first three preschool lunches that I have made for Simon.

preschool lunch 1Raisin mini-bagel with cream cheese on the side and a little spreader, crunchy carrots and green peppers, and some yogurt-covered raisins.

preschool lunch 2Cheese pizza pinwheel (what we had for dinner the night before), applesauce, and banana chips.

preschool lunch 3Butterfly made from two halves of a waffle, part of a banana, two pretzels, and raisins for eyes. Peanut butter on the side with a spreader for the waffle, and some dried cranberries.

Sometimes he is so busy chatting at lunch that he doesn’t finish, in which case he will eat the rest for his snack when we get home. Right now my biggest challenge has been making sure that he gets protein. His school has a no meat policy, because it is located in a synagogue center, so I will be relying on other foods for his protein source, which is just as well since he isn’t a big meat-eater anyway. He loved his butterfly lunch today, and I am looking forward to finding more ways to get him excited about what I pack, and to make it enticing.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “Preschool Lunch

  1. LOVE that butterfly! I haven’t needed to pack lunch for either girl yet – our day care provides breakfast, lunch and snacks. But next year for Kindergarten? Yikes!!

    • Isn’t it scary when you think of how fast things happen!?

      As for the butterfly, I was so happy to hear from his teacher that it held up, despite the lunch box being dropped twice.

      • that’s awesome!!

        It’s crazy how fast it is! Everyone tells you, but you’re in the trenches until you stop and take a moment, and realize how much bigger they actually are!

Leave a Reply

