thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Three Little Pigs Playdough

Leave a comment

3 pigs playdough 2
3 pigs playdough
This week at the Library where I work as Storylady, I presented a Three Little Pigs themed Storytime program for the preschoolers. After I read some stories, and we sang some songs together, I set up a fun sensory project for the kids. I got my inspiration from a website called Fairy Dust Teaching, and then put my own twist on it.

First I made some homemade playdough, using this recipe. I decided not to add any coloring to the dough, so that the materials would really stand out. I put out cut up pieces of raffia, piles of small sticks from my yard, and some brick colored stones from the craft store to represent the straw, sticks, and bricks that the three little pigs use to make their houses. Since the focus of this activity was meant to be about sensory play rather than a finished product, I told the kids to just have fun with the materials while thinking about the houses that the pigs in our stories had made.

I received a lot of positive feedback from the parents about this activity, and the kids had so much fun sticking and mixing the objects into the dough. As you can see from the photos, I also brought some of the materials home for Simon to play and experiment with, and he had a lot of fun too.

The three stories that I read aloud today were:
The Three Little Pigs and the Somewhat Bad Wolf by Mark Teague (My favorite interpretation on this classic!)
Huff & Puff by Claudia Rueda (I asked the kids to play the role of the Big, Bad, Wolf and do the huffing and puffing along with the story.)
Rabbit and the Not-So-Big-Bad Wolf by Michael Escoffier (This one might not have any pigs, but it has excellent illustrations, humor, and a plot twist that the kids loved.)

We also recited “This Little Piggy” on our fingers, sang “Old MacDonald” (with cow, pig, and wolf on his farm), and “The Pigs on the Farm go Oink, Oink, Oink” (to the tune of “The Wheels on the Bus”).

I had so much fun reading aloud and singing with the kids, however, I think the playdough activity was definitely the most fun today!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

