thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Around Here

Leave a comment

thinking about green
simons room progress 4
Simons room progress 3
patched hole
molly on the stairs
jeramy scraping
sam with boxes
paint colors for simons room
windowsill
We live in home renovation madness. So many projects, so little time. When we prepared to move in, Jeramy and I agreed: Simon’s room comes first. Not only did we want our little guy to have a brand-spanking new room that he could be proud of, but it also happened to be the room that was possibly in the worst shape, at least visually. Stained yellow wallpaper, holes cut in the wall from when previous owners did insulation or electrical work, and peeling paint and paper made a room not cut out for a three-year-old. We have been spending a bit of every evening in there, peeling, sanding, priming, and cleaning. The room should be ready by the end of the week.

In the meantime, Simon’s bed is in our room. This time reminds me of when he was a baby, and shared a room with us. I find myself afraid to even cough, for fear of waking him. I believe we will all sleep more soundly when he is in his own space, but I do love seeing him, zonked out in his footy pajamas, when I go to bed at night.

Downstairs is chaos too. Boxes, boxes, everywhere. Large furniture that needs to be relocated. As I type I sit at the Dining Room table, which is, unlike many things we own, in the room where it belongs. However, there is a bureau on my left, another bureau and an uninstalled dishwasher in front of me, three bookshelves, a television, 2 baskets of clothes, and some painting supplies on my right. Not very Dining Room-like.

The kitchen is the most put together room, and the room that will someday be our Library is the least. These two spaces are right next to one another, yet provide me with a much different level of inner peace as I walk through right now.

I am trying to seek a sense of serenity through all of this. The realization that this is all temporary, and that this is our home, that we can do whatever we want to, makes it easier.

We will get there, little by little. I cannot wait to share all of our progress along the way.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

