thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Our New Home

1 Comment

House Listing Photo
Backyard before septic
We have moved! I have been away from blogging for a bit as we have gone through this whirling dervish of packing up our life and beginning the new adventure of home ownership. We closed on the house on Friday the 13th, and moved in the rain, and we all caught colds– with Simon getting very sick and having to spend a night in the hospital. I underestimated my readiness and ended up with more cleaning and packing to do than I thought at the last minute. We were grumpy with one another at times, and didn’t get enough sleep. We are living in a pile of boxes and furniture that doesn’t yet have a spot. It is hectic.

However, it is beginning to feel like home. I have gotten the kitchen mostly unpacked, and have managed to cook and bake here already. We have been doing renovation projects right off the bat to get the house to be right for us. Our two kitties walk around like they have lived here all along, and weren’t traumatically brought here in a car, screaming their heads off. When I am not home, I find myself worrying about my house, like I would a child.

Simon and I went for a walk the other day in the new neighborhood. Further down our road we can take a right and end up at a horse farm. Just beyond that is another farm with some domesticated deer. As we looked at the animals, chatted with friendly neighbors who were also out walking, and strolled past houses with the grassy and tree-filled yards, I reflected on what a change this is for me. We moved a lot when I was a child, and I lived in a variety of home types, but mostly we were in apartment buildings in urban settings. I am much more used to the sounds of traffic and construction than I am chirping crickets and the neighbor’s rooster.

It is definitely not as important where you are. It is what you make of it and who you make it with that creates a sense of home. However, I am brimming with thankfulness in my heart that we have all of this space to work with. I have always dreamed of living more rurally, with chickens in the yard, trees to build a fort in, and a bit of land to work and grow food on. That dream has come true and I am feeling so incredibly blessed.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

One thought on “Our New Home

  1. I am soooo happy for you! I think you have found the place where you can all lay your head and heart. May you find happiness and wonder in your new home!

Leave a Reply

