thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

34+35/52

2 Comments

painting nails
pedicure“A portrait of my child, once a week, every week, in 2013.”

Simon: Giving himself a manicure with watercolors//Getting a pedicure from Daddy

A couple of weeks ago, as I was painting my toenails pink, Simon came into the bathroom to see what I was doing. He stuck out his adorable little feet and asked: “Will you paint my toes too?” I said “of course!” and asked him to pick out a color. (He is always very interested in my nailpolish and makeup, so I knew it was only a matter of time before he wanted to try some.)

He picked out a bright turquoise (or “TORquoise” as he says it), and sat very still (mostly) while I painted his toes. Of course, being a kid, he immediately ran outside barefoot and dragged his feet through the sand, so his toenails became an interesting texture, with dirt around the edges. But the point was that he was happy with his self-expression. He loves to wear costumes, and jewelry, and temporary tattoos. He is a bold kid and he loves to experiment with different combinations.

Since that first pedi, he has since asked for more polish. We have okayed more pedicures, but are currently vetoing fingernail polish until I can buy some of the non-toxic kind. Just because he still sticks his hands in his mouth once in a while, and I want to minimize the chemicals I put near his little body. He has found a way around this though, by painting his own nails with watercolor paint.

Do your kids want you to paint their nails? What do you do about removing the polish?

52-170px

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “34+35/52

  1. I LOVE the arms crossed while he oversees the pedicure. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Piper usually just scrapes it off herself. or I just let it grow out.

Leave a Reply

