thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Thrift Shop

2 Comments

goodwill
Simon has been going through a very whiny and difficult stage recently. Jeramy thinks it might be part of a readjustment to being home after our week of vacation at the cabin. I suspect it is normal three-year-old boundary testing. Whatever it is, I am much more exhausted and lacking in any remaining patience by the time Jeramy gets home from work than I was just a couple of weeks ago.

Today was a particularly trying day, so when Jeramy walked in the door and got a bit settled, I said I needed to go for a drive by myself. About once a month or so I do this, and almost always I end up getting a coffee and popping into the nearby Goodwill. Flipping through the racks and scanning the shelves is relaxing for me. I often don’t even find anything to buy, but spending the time with my thoughts, zoning out, and just looking always makes me feel better when I am cranky.

I lucked out on this particular trip, and found a button-down blouse, a flowy cardigan, and the two little treasures pictured above. I began a vintage Pyrex collection a couple of weeks back, while spending a day out with a friend who collects antiques. I have always had a love for vintage Pyrex. I am being careful to build my collection with only functional pieces that I really love, a little at a time, because collecting can oh so quickly turn to clutter. (A lesson I have learned from experience.) The Wonder Woman mug is meant to go with me to work. I have been sipping my tea and coffee there in a borrowed mug, that I foraged out of the employee kitchen space. Now I will have one of my very own to inspire me to take on the day like a super hero.

Or perhaps I should keep the mug at home to help me stay strong through “The Difficult Threes”?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Thrift Shop

  1. I hear ya mumma! OMG. Chloe has been going through the terrible 3s. I have also been running short on patience for months now. People keep telling me the 3s are bad. Great. I love your Goodwill finds!

  2. Four is a bit easier than three! There is an end in sight!

Leave a Reply

