thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

A Rare Gift

Leave a comment

window with hearts
I was given the gift of time to myself today. Jeramy took Simon to visit his Great-Grandmother for the afternoon and I spent hours in bed, resting and recovering from this cold. At three o’clock I finally woke up, stumbled out of the bedroom, and made my way to the shower to become more human. I got dressed for the first time in almost two days, fixed myself something to eat, and then flopped onto the couch for a while.

Simon came home with a painting he had done for me, and a few little flowers from his GG’s garden. My favorite, though, was the great-big hug he gave me.

If you are the parent to a small child, you know how incredibly rare a day in bed is. I am so thankful for the opportunity to rest and not need to be in charge of anyone else’s needs for a while.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

