thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Smudge

4 Comments

smudge 8
smudge 7
smudge 6
smudge 1
smudge 2
smudge 4
smudge 5
smudge 3
Smudge Art Studio for Kids is located in Freeport, Maine. They are an open art studio for children aged two to nine. I first heard about them when Simon had only just turned one, and was not old enough yet to go. Going has been on my to-do list since his second birthday, but we only just got around to visiting last week. I am sorry I waited so long! It is a fantastic place, and Simon had so much creative fun.

When you walk in, you see one, large room filled with easels, and different tables and art-making stations set up all around. We happened to have the whole place to ourselves the day we went, and Simon immediately made a beeline for the spray-bottle station. There, he sprayed liquid colors onto cat-shaped cutouts on the wall. He also painted on a HUGE piece of paper that was taped up at the far end of the room, painted and glued objects onto a plaster mask, and got creative mixing pipe cleaners with natural materials. Before we knew it, our hour of open studio time had passed.

Smudge also offers art classes for kids, as well as creative birthday parties. We do lots and lots of art at home together, but it is great to go be in such creative surroundings, play with different supplies, and not have to clean-up! We will definitely be going back there again!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

4 thoughts on “Smudge

  1. HI, my name is Nicole, i’m a former art teacher(looking for a full time position) and always full time Mom. I have two little girls ( ages 5 and 14 months). I love my girls.. and LOVE ART… anything that combines the two is even better! I also love to get out and do things. I think your blog combines all my intrests perfectly. I’d like to meet sometime! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: Outdoor Spray Art | thismummaslife

  3. Pingback: Rainy Days Are For Art | thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

