thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

A Reminder

1 Comment

 

yellow flowers
pink flowers

This whole blogging business requires paying a certain amount of attention to my days, to find that moment that is worth writing about, worth remembering. Sometimes this comes easily, such as when we go somewhere scenic or adventurous, or when we celebrate a family event, or do a picture-worthy craft project. Other days, I find it harder…I stumble through the motions of the day, and when it ends I am too exhausted to recall how it all went. Lately, I have been experiencing much more of the latter. I do intend to blog, but then I find myself thinking: “What about today is special enough to share? Certainly, no one wants to read about me paying the bills and driving through hellish traffic!?

I am forgetting the point, the reason I started this blog in the first place. It was not because I thought myself to be the best writer, philosopher, or entertainer. It was for myself. And if, in writing (and photographing) for myself, someone else found something they liked. or related to, or were inspired by, then that is a bonus. A wonderful bonus, but definitely not the primary goal.

So while I write this blog for all of you who come here daily, or from time to time…I need to be real, and remember to write for me too. Pressuring myself to have fantastic and amusing content each time I write stifles the creative process, and causes me to switch off, and avoid writing anything at all. Some of my own favorite blogs are not about anything in particular. A few photographs and words, capturing the beauty of everyday life. Some people have a knack for seeking out that little bit of special in their days…from a photograph of their artfully arranged breakfast, to prose about a moving sunset. I go there to read and gain a sense of calm, and to take a breath. I like blogs with more information too, I definitely do. But sometimes, I just need to escape from reality and the bombardment of info and step into someone else’s moments for a little while. And when I write, I am stepping out of my routine and into my own meditation, and a chance to reflect on what made that day good.

I know, I have written this before, my reasons for writing. Yet, sometimes I need the reminder.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

One thought on “A Reminder

  1. Thanks for posting. I needed to read this!

Leave a Reply

