thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

16/52

2 Comments

couch snuggle“A portrait of my child, once a week, every week, in 2013.”

*This week’s photo taken by my husband, Jeramy

 

Simon: Snuggling with Mumma on the couch.

Sometimes the hard work of parenting doesn’t look like work. Sometimes, all that matters is doing for your child what they need most, at that moment. This week I had work, rehearsals, extra errands, and two nights of directing the show. I was home only one evening of the whole week. Simon spent three nights with his Grandparents, and the rest of the evenings he had only Daddy home at night to tuck him in. After this whirlwind, we finally had today. A day with nothing on the calendar, nowhere to be, nothing that we had to do. And what Simon needed was to sit on my lap, and not have me let go for a long while.

The house is a mess from the hubbub of the weekend, and I have emails and thank you notes I want to send, but it can all wait. Bonding time with Simon is more necessary than that. We did not leave the house today…he did not leave my side. He needed us to play with him, hold him, and reassure him that Mumma and Daddy are there for him. He wanted extra hugs and kisses at bedtime.

So, I may have spent a long time on the couch, and some time drawing pictures or driving toy cars on the floor; but that does not mean I was not doing my job. I was taking care of important things. Or, rather, the most important thing.

52-250px

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “16/52

  1. Great photo, it’s so nice to see. Sometimes that is all they need, is your time. I started a new linkup idea this month, called Behind the Camera. For the very reason to get those always taking the photos to be in more.

Leave a Reply

