thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Thankful

2 Comments

play food
It has been a little while since I have stopped to really think about all that I am grateful for. Our days have been busier, with me directing a play and working more shifts at the library. Despite the busyness, I believe it is important to try to remain present in my moments. Sometimes I forget to do this, but is still helpful to think back over my day and recall the day’s blessings.

Today I am thankful for:
~Simon giving me an extra half hour of sleep.
~Having him curl up on my lap to read stories together after breakfast.
~His delightful imagination and the detailed scenarios he makes up when he plays. (Such as serving me the play food meal shown above.)
~Having the day off, so I got to wear jeans.
~The sun shining, even if it was only for a small part of the day.
~That the rain never came down hard enough to bother us when we were out walking.
~Listening to good music in the car and singing along.
~A visit to our favorite little toy store where Simon played happily; and I bought him his very first pair of scissors.
~A deep tissue treatment at the chiropractor.
~A few precious moments of complete quiet in the afternoon.
~Seeing my husband and son all snuggled up together on the couch.
~My favorite comfy sweatshirt.

As for tonight, I have yet another new book to start reading; and my bed is calling my name.

Hope you all are feeling glad, here in the middle of the week.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Hmmm.. a thanksgiving moment at Easter time… you may start a trend here.

  2. This is lovely. I could get down with slowing down and focusing on what I’m grateful for at tis time of year. Who has time for that at Thanksgiving anyway? All the snuggly kid moments are the BEST.

Leave a Reply

