thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Being Home

2 Comments

Simon and RK
This little person has missed me terribly this week. I haven’t been home for most of the bedtimes, have been in and out of the house, and have been quite distracted by all that I have going on right now, as I mentioned in my previous post. This may have only been a short-term disruption in our daily routines, but it has taken its toll. Simon has been more emotional about everything. This afternoon I went out to the laundry room and I think he was under the impression that I was leaving for work or another meeting without saying goodbye first, and he completely melted down. It took more than a couple of hugs to calm him back down. I know that it is something all children eventually learn in stages, that when their caretaker has to go somewhere, it will be OK. Knowing that his reactions are normal does not alleviate my guilt.

The good news is, I have finally dug my way through to the other side of those filled in blocks on my calendar. Today was the first of four in a row that are blissfully open and can be devoted completely to bonding. This morning, Simon spent a lot of time on my lap, playing at my side while I did a few chores, and asking for extra hugs and kisses. We both needed that.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Being Home

  1. Congratulations to you on your new endeavors! Enjoy your four days off!, as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

