thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

7/52

2 Comments

simon with spray bottle“A portrait of my child, once a week, every week, in 2013.”

Simon: Armed with a spray bottle of blue water,  running around the yard making the snow and puddles change color. This was the longest time we have spent outdoors in a while, and was a much needed break from being cooped up in the house  most of the winter.

****
We are back to powerful wind and snow again today. There is rising bread dough in my kitchen, ice cream in my belly, and I am enjoying a short 24 hour pause between hectic days. Since I last wrote there have been visits from the plumber, appointments to keep, going-away parties to attend, work, meetings, and more.

I have a lot on my plate right now, aside from being Simon’s Mumma, and I am sorry I have been here in this blog space a bit less. I have taken on extra shifts at my part-time job at the library, as well as new responsibilities there. I have several toddler art programs in the works, and am leading my very first preschool story time. I am co-directing a show, and we held our first auditions today. I am still working on my painting for the fundraiser I became involved in. A couple of weeks ago, I bought my first personal calendar in years to keep track of everything new I am taking on, in addition to the already numerous family appointments and outings. It is overwhelming in some ways, because this feels a bit like my first foray back into involvement in my community since becoming a mother. However, it also feels really good. I believe it is very important to find things to get involved in that make us happy, and fulfilled as individuals. When we do that, we role model for our children. They get to see us living fuller lives and putting an effort into the things we are passionate about. On a personal level, it also breaks up the occasional monotony that can come with being a stay-at-home parent, and changes up my scenery and routine. This is especially important in the winter, when the days can feel like they are dragging on, always the same.

A bit more chaos over the next two days, and then…four in a row that are currently, blissfully open on my calendar. Which means time to pause, spend time at home, reconnect with my daily rituals, and breathe before a bit of chaos starts back up again.

52-250px

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “7/52

  1. Pingback: Being Home « thismummaslife

  2. Pingback: Outdoor Spray Art | thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

