thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

A Bit Of Color

4 Comments

cutting hearts

buggle food yogurt and berries
concoction
new playdough
I find myself, here in the middle of winter, drawn to photographing the more colorful things in my days, instead of capturing the snowy landscape and the grey skies. I have lived in Maine my whole life, but have never grown accustomed to the way this season carries on, long after the Christmas season is gone.

It is bitter cold outside. The kind of cold that stings your face and makes your lungs ache if you stand outside for more than a minute or two. It has driven us indoors, for a sort of hibernation. So, we must find ways to occupy ourselves indoors creatively. Anything that can bring a bit of color and enjoyment our way helps us to stave off the winter blues…

…such as:
~Library books
~Time spent side-by-side at Simon’s art easel
~Rearranging his wooden train tracks over and over again
~Brand new playdough from Christmas
~Listening to music
~Frequent popcorn, hot cocoa, and baking
~Putting on some dance songs while I use my hula hoop
~Playing “scientists” with Simon and creating messy concoctions together (i.e. the green, slimy mess you see above, which is the aftermath of some crazy fun with vinegar, baking soda, and food coloring)

Is it winter where you are? What have you been up to recently?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

4 thoughts on “A Bit Of Color

  1. Love the colorful images, we are not spending any time outside right now either TOO cold here too!!!

  2. Love the look and smell of new Playdoh. I’ve always wanted to make my own, but I just can’t beat that look and smell…

Leave a Reply

