thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Resolutions

2 Comments

january first
Happy New Year! Jeramy and I celebrated with friends last night, making Mexican food, having a margarita, talking and laughing. Today we spent the last day of Jeramy’s long vacation from work by hanging out around the house together. Jeramy worked on fixing the plumbing in the bathroom, Simon and I unloaded the dishwasher and made art together. Nothing very eventful.

However, we spent some time leading up to today talking of our plans for 2013, and how we hope it will go. We made some resolutions together, and I made some separately as well.

~Buy or build a house. We spent all but 2 months of 2012 looking, and even put offers in on two places only to have them not work out. We are hoping this is the year that we finally find a place of our own.

~Be more organized. Jeramy and I tend to be pack rats. We also tend to have a very cluttered space. This year we want to clear out and simplify. Donate unnecessary things, avoid mindless purchases, clean out all of the closets, get some shelves/bins/baskets for that which is essential.

~Keep a budget notebook. We recently went over our budget and realized the way we were doing things was not working for us. We agreed to get a notebook and be more diligent with tracking our spending and maintaining our bill paying records.

~Move more. This means getting back into my yoga practice, going for more walks and hikes, dancing, playing outside. Making activity a regular art of my life so that it requires less effort.

~Keep sewing. Last year I started to teach myself this new hobby. This year I want to dig in a little more and try making more things and learning new techniques.

~Spend less time surfing the internet and more engaging in other hobbies. The internet is fun. Obviously, I need to use it often in order to share this blog. But sometimes, as I am sure you all have experienced, the internet sucks me in. Pinterest, facebook, youtube, etc. all can use up chunks of my day very quickly. I’d much rather read a book, draw, paint, sew, do yoga, write a (handwritten) note to a friend, bake, etc.

There are always more ways that I am trying to improve myself, so I could go on and on with this list. But these are the main themes right now.

Did you make any resolutions?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Great resolutions, Krista! I made some of my own that I wrote about on my blog. The main focus is Better Health and Better Home. 2013 is the year of me getting my “stuff” together!
    http://amysreallife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

