thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

First Flakes

3 Comments

 


The first flakes flew yesterday as Simon and I were sitting at the kitchen table munching on a snack. I leaned over to him and said “Look Baby, it’s snowing.” He looked up excitedly and we watched the white flecks as they floated on the air. We agreed that as soon as our snacktime was over we would bundle up to go out.

I layered long johns under his pants, and a scarf and hat over his coat. We donned mittens and gloves for the first time this year.

Once dressed against the elements, we joined our friends who happen to also be our neighbors, and headed into our small patch of a yard. Unfortunately, by our arrival, the snow had disappeared. Still, we let our boys play in the leaves while us Moms talked, our breath visible in the air.  We stayed out until the little noses began running over, and the thought of hot cocoa was too compelling to postpone.

Indoors, we shed our layers with reddened cheeks and sniffles, while we drank from our warm mugs. The play and conversation continued until the need for a nap by my toddler reached a critical point.

As I tucked Simon in for his nap I said quietly: “Winter is coming.” Simon did not like the sound of that, and I wasn’t sure I did either. However, now that he is two, I believe the wonder of the season will win him over a bit. Thankfully, what we got yesterday was a just hint of what is to come, and some more time before it really does.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “First Flakes

  1. There is nothing like the first snowfall! Enjoy!

  2. A perfect story : )

Leave a Reply

