thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Making Stock

6 Comments

 





Today was our very first adventure in canning, and it was a whole family affair.

Simon was my little kitchen helper as we put all of our ingredients into the big, yellow pot. I washed the vegetables and chopped them, and he dropped them in. (He also snuck in the occasional taste.) Then he used a measuring spoon to very carefully scoop the correct amount of salt, pepper, thyme, and sage, with only a little bit of help from me. I was feeling pretty proud of my little guy. I put the chicken carcass into the pot, covered all in water, and it sat and burbled away on the stove top for many hours, getting all the nutrients out of the ingredients.

Later, when Simon was in bed, Jeramy and I poured the stock through a strainer draped with cheese cloth, and then ladled it into our cans. I do not (yet) own a pressure canner, so this must be kept cold. Some will be frozen, some in the fridge for using soon. I am excited to allow this to inspire my cooking in the weeks to come!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Making Stock

  1. nice! and if little mister gets sick with a cold again, this stuff is GOOOOOOOOD medicine!

  2. Love the colors! I have made soup with a carcass before but never made stock. Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  3. I just want you to know that I am Simon’s biggest fan. He’s adorable. Also- making stock is soooooo fun but then I freeze it in bags and forget about it in the back of the freezer. Let us know when you get a pressure canner and give us lessons, please.

  4. Pingback: Week’s End « thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

