thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Sick Days

9 Comments

The last 72 hours have been devoted to caring for my sick child. The cold he came down with on Saturday took a turn for the worse on Sunday, making him wheeze heavily and have strong chest retractions.  We ended up in the emergency room on Sunday night, and we were sure they would be admitting him overnight in order to stabilize him like the last time he was sick, but thankfully, his breathing got better during our 4-hour time there. My poor little guy has to be on a steroid and  nebulizer treatments for a while, and I am always a bit scared when prescription medications are involved. He is breathing better now though, and that is the most important thing.

Jeramy and I have been fighting to keep the cold at bay as well. Neither of us are very symptomatic, and I am hoping it stays that way.

In addition to the modern medicine, we have been using:
~LOTS of tissues.
~Badger Aromatic Balm for a natural alternative to vapor rub.
~Orange and Carrot Juice, because vitamin C and beta carotene increase the number of illness fighting cells in the body.
~Echinacea Tea for a soothing, warm, immunity boosting drink. I also made Simon some poured over ice cubes, which he loved when his throat was particularly ragged from coughing.
~Teaspoons of *raw, local honey, to soothe sore throats.
~Extra naps.
~Heaps of garlic added to our food for an immunity boost.
~Relaxation. The dishes and scattered toys are less important than reading lots of stories and singing extra lullabies.

What are your favorite soothing cold remedies?

*Honey not considered safe for kids under age 1.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

9 thoughts on “Sick Days

  1. I’m sorry he’s sick! During the cool and winter months we have a cool-mist vaporizer going on in her bedroom (recommended by her pediatrician), and we also elevate one side of her crib mattress with a towel or blanket. I have a friend who swears by diffusing essential oils… I think she’s big on eucalyptus. She says her kids do really well when she diffuses these at home… she very much into homeopathic remedies. Good luck!

    • oooh! Terrific idea! Can you add the oils directly to the vaporizer? Or do you need some other way to diffuse them?

      • She uses something to diffuse the oils… I will find out for you and let you know. I wouldn’t put them directly into a vaporizer… I think it would be too difficult to clean out…

      • Thanks for finding out! 🙂

      • lol, ok, she just gave me a ton of information… I told her: can you send me a link for the kind of diffuser you use to diffuse your essential oils, and can you again tell me what you use besides eucalyptus oil for colds?
        And she wrote back:
        Diffuserworld .com. Thyme, oregano, peppermint, lemon, Clive, cinnamon, rosemary, ravensara, cajeput. I’m sure I’ll think of more!! But these are very potent. Add orange or mandarin to make it smell Christmas-y. The clove, cinnamon, eucalyptus, sweet orange, thyme. Smells like the holidays!

        I have aroma-pro. It’s pretty but fragile (made of glass) and there’s no timer. Aroma-ace is what Jody and Joann got. It’s plastic, has a timer, has attachments to switch out oils easily. Both make a white noise sound. They have one called aroma whisper I think. Supposed to be more silent but more expensive.

        Oh! Tea tree is also a staple in my blends.
        Now, for congestion the peppermint and eucalyptus is good but for cough, myrrh and naiouli are very good.
        Aroma breeze is on sale. It’s like mine but plastic not glass and on sale!!! Only buy therapeutic grade essential oils. Preferably organic.

      • Thank you SO MUCH for this information and please thank your friend as well!!

  2. you’re doing a great job! hang in there. i think it’s even rougher on us mama’s than it is for our little ones. at least they live in a world where mom and dad WILL make it better (even if mom and dad are beside themselves)

    i know you guys don’t do a lot of animal products, but have you considered bone broth? broth made from bones carries a lot of immune system enzymes and also thins mucus.

    go easy on the orange juice. while it does contain vitamin C, it also creates mucus. Carrot juices should be great (along with dark leafy veggies like kale and spinach).

    P got sick a week and a half ago with a bad cold…on top of the congestion she already had. we also did tea, vapo rub, the humidifier by her crib, elevated one side of the crib with board books under the legs(!), and extra napping. I even found a great youtube tutorial on how to make garlic oil for putting in baby’s ears.

    • I love the idea of elevating the crib! Very resourceful and I might try that.

      I should probably have added that the juice was a mix of pure orange and carrot and we dilute it heavily for Simon. We don;t usually buy juice except as a rare treat, and it is always diluted for him.

      Also, we have yet to get his humidifier out for the year, but it is on my list! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

