thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

The Search

7 Comments


I have been urged by several people to write about our adventures in house-hunting here. Honestly, that is one of the aspects of our lives that I have intentionally been fairly private about, partly because it all seems too good to get my hopes up. But it is an adventure that many people embark on, to various ends, and therefore,one worth talking about.

The home buying process is not an easy one. Sometimes, it isn’t even fun. Back when Jeramy and I used to watch cable television, we would sometimes watch those house hunting shows, and long for the day when that could be us. They make it look fun on TV, but in reality it is sometimes discouraging, confusing, or overwhelming. A couple of times I almost threw in the towel, such as after our first offer was rejected with no negotiation on a house. We allowed ourselves to grow too attached, too fast.

Today, we have at last put in an offer on a different house. We should hear back by the weekend, and the negotiating will (hopefully) begin. I admit, I am terrified. Excited and hopeful, but also terrified of home ownership and all of the possible side effects of that type of responsibility. So much paperwork, so many things to consider, so many hoops to jump through before we can breathe easy.

There is so much to think about, and last night I even dreamed about our meeting with our real estate agent. Until all of this is said and done, a portion of my thoughts will be dedicated to our home search. Whether it is this house or another, or even if we somehow end up having to postpone a house and live in another apartment, it is all weighing heavily on my mind.

I promise you, when this search is over, I have some very funny stories to tell you. Tonight though, I am far too distracted to do them any justice. Hopefully soon I will have some good news, and some photographs to share. Until then…I would love to hear your stories, if you have gone through this, or are doing so now. Any anecdotes or tips you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
~Douglas Adams
Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “The Search

  1. We just moved into our new place. It is such a long, daunting, and nerve wracking process. I don’t blame you for not wanting to discuss it much…I didn’t like talking about it much for fear that I’d jinx myself!!

    What I do truly believe is that if it doesn’t work out, it’s not the right place for you and your family. Sometimes it’s just a matter of channeling your patience and waiting for the stars to align. 🙂

    Best wishes in your search!!

  2. wait until you have to sell and buy a house at the same time! and then close, move out and move in all on the same day!

  3. Oh man, it is tough! I still think about a house we missed out on 15 years ago! It would have been SO perfect! Oh well, I guess there are worse disappointments in life : )

    I REALLY hope you get this one!!!

  4. Pingback: Searching For Our Nest | thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

