thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Wildlife

3 Comments









Yesterday, Simon and I joined my parents and my brother for a trip to Maine Wildlife Park. I have been going there since I was a kid myself, and since Simon loves animals it is a terrific place for him to see and learn about the wild animals that live in our home state.

According to their website: “The Park serves as a permanent home for wildlife that cannot survive in the Wild.” Sometimes this is obvious, such as when we walked on the path with a small group of geese, one of whom had a wing that was disheveled and dragged at his side.

Unfortunately, this particular trip was cut a bit short when Simon tripped and fell on one of the sand and pebble paths and split his lip open. My poor baby. No matter how many times he hurts himself through his life, my heart will always skip a beat. Thankfully, after clearing his bloody face of dirt and giving him lots of hugs and kisses, he was asking to get back down and see more animals. We stopped in the snack shack for an italian ice to serve as an impromptu ice pack for his rapidly swelling lip, as well as being a treat.

We will definitely be going back again this year, when Jeramy can come too, and before they end their season. Next time, I think we will skip the falling-down part.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “Wildlife

  1. It’s so hard when they hurt themselves. I’m sure he loved the italian ice though!

    BTW, I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! Love your blog! http://lisasff.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/august-27-2012/

Leave a Reply

