thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Good Exhaustion

Leave a comment


There is a type of exhaustion that I actually enjoy. I believe it is one my forefathers and mothers were probably well acquainted with almost every day of their lives, and one that I would like to get to know better too. It comes from an active day of giving life your all. It comes from being in nature, traveling to new places, using all of your senses. It comes from hard work and hard play, and from losing yourself in living life.

For example, Friday we went out for dinner and frozen custard, and watched some goats at play on a farm next door to the custard stand. Saturday, we spent an entire day together at the Children’s Museum and Theater of Maine, where we did nothing but play, learn, and explore as a family, and afterward both Simon and I fell asleep in the car on the ride home. Today, we went to a gathering of relatives at my uncle’s house by the sea, and spent our time playing again, digging around for sea glass and shells, climbing on the rocks, eating good food, and catching up, and again I arrived home with sore muscles and the feeling that I could sleep for days.

My Aquarian nature is to be happiest on the go, experiencing the world, and getting out of the house. Though I do love the occasional day at home in my pajamas, they have to be the exception to the rule of going somewhere else and having little adventures as much as possible. This weekend was my ideal, having gone somewhere three days in a row.

I have a lot of photographs and things to tell you about, but right now I am enjoying the exhaustion of a day well spent. Even more, I will love sinking into my bed, stretching out, and succumbing to the relaxation at the end of it.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

