thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Buggle Food

7 Comments

Breakfast: Greek Yogurt with almond slivers, dried strawberries and mango, and dried cranberries.

Breakfast: Whole grain toast with almond butter and sliced banana.

Breakfast: sliced organic apple, dry cereal, vegetarian sausage.

Lunch: Scrambled eggs and broccoli with parmesan cheese. (He tried the broccoli three times, but never took a proper bite.)

Lunch: Leftover tortellini, sliced red bell pepper with hummus for dipping, and dried cranberries.

Mini-Muffin Tin Lunch: whole grain crackers with hummus, carrot sticks, cheese cubes, and chopped prune.

Supper: apple and cheddar quelsadilla, veggie sticks, and a chopped prune.

Breakfast for Dinner (a weekly occurrence around here): a slice of bacon, a fried egg, hash brown potatoes, sliced apple and banana in yogurt.

For more “Buggle Food” posts look here.
For my inspiration board of kid and toddler friendly food look here.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “Buggle Food

  1. I never got to be so creative with my girls food. I try though!

  2. Nice variety! I love the muffin tin idea; I am totally going to try that out tomorrow. Thanks for sharing such great ideas. My brain gets tired sometimes and your post has inspired me to try a little harder when it comes to meals for the kiddos.

  3. my confession: thought i keep it to myself, i’ve always thought it weird when moms post what they give their toddlers to eat. my reasoning: “why not just give them the same thing i’m eating?”

    but lately…

    i’ve been going crazy getting P to eat anything, and i’m starting to worry that she’ll only ever eat fruit, spaghetti, and pb&j.

    this is really helpful for ideas. quesadillas are definitely next up on the menu! at least until i can make her understand what it means when I say “This is what’s for dinner. Eat it now or cold for breakfast.” 😉

    • Actually, it is funny you should say that. I rarely ever make a separate meal for him, just a variation on what I am eating. If he has yogurt and dried fruit, I am eating that too. If he is having eggs and broccoli, I am eating the same thing. The big difference is in how i plate his food. Since toddlers can occasionally be picky, I take more time with his presentation.

      I believe whole-heartedly in role modeling the eating habits I want him to have, so with rare exception we eat the same thing. We also all eat dinner together, which I believe is important, and if he does”t eat what we have for dinner that is his choice, but I will give it to him for lunch the next day. I offer it over and over until he is hungry enough to try it. If it is a matter of him trying it and GENUINELY not liking it, plain yogurt is his alternate dinner.

Leave a Reply

