thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Rangely, Maine

6 Comments

Here is my final post about our trip to Rangely this weekend. A final summary of the experience.





We were able to go thanks to my Mother-in-law, who reserves 2 cabins there for a week every summer. The place we stayed was called Niboban Camps, and I was thoroughly blown away by the place. It was so quiet, so private, and so breathtaking. Our group had two cabins on the end. We shared one with Jeramy’s mom, the other was occupied by his sister, our two nephews, and two of their friends.





Jeramy and I were the most impressed with Simon’s reactions. This was his first overnight anywhere other than home, and we were not sure how he would do. We brought his pack n’ play, which we set up as a crib with all of the usual comforts: his stuffed bunny, his “hoot” pillow, and a blanky. We set the “crib” up first thing upon our arrival, and when I showed it to Simon and explained that it was where he would be sleeping, he looked in and exclaimed: “Cute!”. Both nights we were there, we did our usual bedtime routine, in the usual order, from putting on pajamas, to brushing teeth, to a sip of water, and finally the same favorite lullabies. He went to sleep, and slept both nights through, without a single hitch. He even took a 3 hour nap in the afternoon!

Even better than his adaptability, was his excitement and wonder at all of the things we did and saw. Boat sightings, mud, walks along the path, collecting rocks to drop off the dock…all of nature became his playground and his toys. This is what I want for his childhood, to be hands-on with nature, and it made me so happy to give him a chance to experience the state we are lucky to live in this way.





For the three of us, the favorite activity was to walk down a short path to a small sandy beach to play together. I did most of the swimming, while Simon and Jeramy preferred to dig and build in the sand. We went there every day, a couple of times on the second day even. Simon was the bravest he has been so far about water, letting me take him out over my waist, and to sit on a floating dock platform together. The water there was clean, clear, and never too cold. We also never had to share the little beach with other Niboban guests.







I have always thought of myself as more of an ocean person than a lake-in-the-mountains person. After this weekend, I am not so sure anymore. I am now having fantasies of being like Thoreau, and building a modest cabin in the woods where Jeramy, Simon, and I would live removed from city life, the media, and mainstream culture. We would be homesteaders, spending our days staying in tune with nature and enjoying peace and quiet.

Though I know we will never become reclusive year-round cabin dwellers, I am thankful for our short time getting “away from it all”. I dearly hope we will be able to return, and make a family tradition of going to Rangely.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Rangely, Maine

  1. Sounds like a wonderful time! Amazing photos!!!

  2. Looks like you had an amazing time – awesome photos! I especially love the photo of your two guys on the dock looking into the water below – so precious! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Arranged Nature Sculptures « thismummaslife

  4. Pingback: Thinking of Rangely | This Mumma's Style

  5. Pingback: Vacation Bound | thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

