thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Outside The Frame

Leave a comment





“Most of life unfolds outside the frame.  So much of what matters never earns verbs or nouns.  Where we point our lens, what we wrap words around, they are scraps and slivers, limited, selective.  Fragments, shards.” ~Molly Hays

These words struck a chord with me as I was contemplating what to write about today. So much of the things taking place in my days lately are small things, fleeting emotions and moments that I am unable to properly put into words. Perhaps it is the way Simon or Jeramy made me feel happier, simply by walking into the room. Maybe it is the particular way the clouds in the sky jump out of their blue background. It could be how the outside smells after the rain, and the breeze cuts through the heat. Or the contentment of doing the same beloved activities over and over with my son, such as tearing off bits of masking tape, or digging in the dirt, and the fact that they never cease to excite him.

Our days have been simple lately, and though there have been smatterings of stress here and there, mostly I am glad of the reassuring sense that comes from having a string of ordinary days. I remind myself occasionally to stop and just listen, and to think about how remarkable an ordinary day actually is in the scheme of things. Perhaps these days are not the ones that will be committed to memory, but if I am very careful, and try to be very still, I can still soak them up.

There is a lot of life that takes place in between the events we remember, and right now, I am making it a point to pay as much attention as I can, and to enjoy it.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

