thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Sketchbook Inspiration

Leave a comment



The red scribble here is courtesy of Simon.

My face-a-day project has not been going very well. Not for lack of motivation, time, or interest. I simply keep forgetting. I think I would have been more successful at keeping it up if I had a designated art-making place in my home where I could leave the project set up to go to whenever the mood struck. When we finally buy a house I will be making a space for this, and then I might try to do something like this again. I have done many sketches and drawings though, two of which are above, and I have also successfully reignited my artistic fuel. So that has been a positive outcome of my attempt.

This week I purchased the new Fiona Apple album. I have been a huge fan of Fiona’s since her very first, Tidal, which came out when I was only 16 and full of teen angst. Not only do I find her new album, which has a *poem for a title, incredibly unique and inspiring, but I also purchased the deluxe edition, which comes with a special lyrics booklet full of Fiona’s own sketches, which has made me realize how much I yearn to keep a sketchbook again. I never knew Fiona was also a visual artist, and such a talented one, and this knowledge has made me love her all the more. (To see a peek at some of her drawings, check out the third image on the amazon link I provided and they are all in the background.)

Between my lack of follow through on my daily face drawings, and this spark of interest courtesy of Fiona, I have realized that I need to go buy a new sketchbook for myself and make it a part of my daily routine whenever possible. I am putting this on my to-do list for this week.

*“The Idler Wheel Is Wiser
Than the Driver Of The Screw
And Whipping Cords Will Serve You
More Than Ropes Will Ever Do”

Note: If you are interested, you can hear one of the songs at Fiona’s Website, here.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

Leave a Reply

