thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Fingers Crossed

6 Comments



Our realtor recently told us that most young families looking for a new home are frightened away by the very same things that Jeramy and I look for. How many other men are so thrilled by a stream or a brook on the property? How many women my age practically squeal with delight at the sight of laundry hanging out on the line or a vegetable garden? A claw foot tub? Major plus for us. Weathered hardwood floors? Perfect.

We are falling in love with a house, starting the efforts to pursue it, trying to remain cautious. A home inspection must take place before we start plotting furniture arrangements or browsing for patio furniture.

In this home buying process, which you can probably tell is in the forefront of my mind lately, this is the first home we have both been instantly taken with. We have been hard pressed to find any flaws. It feels like a dream almost too good to be true.

I originally planned to keep the home search process out of this blog, but I have decided since I am thinking about it pretty constantly right now (I apologize to friends and family for my ramblings about pellet stoves and breakfast nooks!), and since this process is one that many others have either gone through or are thinking about right now, that I would go ahead and share.

I am trying not to count my houses before they’re hatched, so to speak, but I really wish for this to work out. I will have an update for you here when the outcome is decided, whether good or bad. If things don’t pan out I will be sad,  but will pick up where we left off and carry on the search knowing it wasn’t meant to be. If the answer is a good one I will be excitedly preparing for a great big step toward fulfilling our dreams.

Keep your fingers crossed!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “Fingers Crossed

  1. Fingers crossed! I know what a pain house hunting can be. But that wonderful feeling of finding *the* house, the perfect house, is great, especially when you both have it.

  2. I am so excited for you! you can ramble all you want to me 🙂 besides, i owe it to you after all my hair talk…

  3. Oooh, I have my fingers, toes, legs, arms and eyes crossed for you! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

