thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

A Face A Day

6 Comments


Several years back, I challenged myself to paint or draw 100 landscapes over a summer. I set no rules on this-they could be imaginary or real, detailed or generalized, sketched or painted-I just had to complete them by the time summer ended. I can’t remember how many I made, but I did not make it to 100. However, I still loved the process of the project, which I believe is the most important part, and I also had a lot of new art to show for it at the end.

When I told all of you that I was looking for a challenge for the month of June to get me out of an energy (or lack thereof) rut, I got several great suggestions from readers, friends, and my husband.  However, what finally settled in my brain was to resurrect this idea from my landscapes project in a new way. (Ann, I might do many of these in watercolor!)

So I am going to paint or draw a face a day with the same rule as before: that I won’t put limitations on my creativity. I can paint, draw, collage or do printmaking. I can do portraits of people I know, or make a face up from my imagination. I can spend ten minutes on it, or over an hour. As long as I make one face every day. June has 30 days, and yesterday got away from me, so today I will have to make two to make up for it, but after this no skipping! I’ll share progress with you every once in a while.

Wish me luck!

Here are a few other people who have had this same idea (or similar ones) if you want to check them out:
T. Matthews Fine Art
2011 A Face A Day (Dan Lesage)
Cargo Collective-A Face A Day
The 100 Faces Project (Leah Lucci)

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

6 thoughts on “A Face A Day

  1. I think that is a great idea. You have inspired me. I used to paint, sketch, and have hobbies but I lost those to motherhood. I think it is important that you do something you enjoy and setting a goal is a great way to make certain you follow through. While I am not as ambitious as one a day I think I might start off with sketching at least once a week. Thank you for the inspiration and sharing links to others who aspire to do the same.

  2. Very cool! Great idea!!! Can’t wait to see all of them! Like them mention : )

  3. Pingback: Sketchbook Inspiration « thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

