thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Week’s End

7 Comments





Hello! We have been having a busy weekend over here, and not much time to spend writing blog posts.

Friday:
~Simon and I did a lot of painting, which was of course followed by a bubble bath.
~There was also a lot of errand running.

Saturday:
~Daddy (who had a hurt back, but was determined to go anyway) took Simon to a local event called “Touch a Truck”. They have all these big trucks and race cars and they let the kids climb into them and honk the horns and stuff. I didn’t know about the horn honking and sirens though, and when they got there Simon was too scared of all the noise to get in the vehicles.
~I worked at the library while my guys were gone, and was very jealous of the time they got to spend together. However, I always remind myself that they need their own special time too.
~We celebrated my little brother turning twenty! I can’t even believe it! My brother Ian and I are ten years apart, but we have always gotten along very well. When he was a baby I would carry him around on my hip and I helped my parents out a lot. Now he is a twenty year old and such a tall guy he could probably carry me around.
~Simon thoroughly enjoyed the cake and ice cream at his Uncle Ian’s birthday dinner. One of the benefits of an uncle with a birthday exactly a week before yours is you get to eat cake two weekends in a row!
~Oh! And Simon also played his Papa’s drum set. He thought that was terrific fun. He has pretty good rhythm for a not quite two-year-old!

Sunday:
~Today we slept in a little bit, thanks to Simon’s late bedtime last night. It felt good to get a few extra Zzz’s.
~We went to my Mother-in-law’s house for a family lunch of boneless ribs, macaroni and cheese, roast asparagus (my favorite!), and carrots. Simon spent most of his time hanging out with his older cousin Connor, who is his buddy, and stealing other people’s cellphones. When we got back home he crashed right out for a nap.

And now….time to spend the last bit of my weekend relaxing by doing loads of housework. (Note, there is sarcasm in that statement. )

What did you do this weekend?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “Week’s End

  1. Wow…that was a busy weekend! Mine wasn’t quite so busy, but it sure felt that way! I’ve been dealing with switching around closets and packing up clothes that are ready for the baby in a year or two and donating other clothes and trying to get things ready for my 8 year olds First Communion next weekend.

  2. Very busy! Much more fun than mine was, though I did get to fit some dirt therapy in. Ashlin was sick yesterday, so our trip to see friends wasn’t as fun, or as long, as it should have been. She’s better now, but it seems as hubby has it… Fingers crossed my oldest and I don’t fall ill next.

  3. Very nice weekend : )
    I had a nice day yesterday with kids – creative movement class, library, then cousins house. Today kids went to the movies with Dad while I worked.

Leave a Reply

