thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Two Plus Four

5 Comments







A warm, sunny day, and two silly, imaginative little boys. That is how I spent my morning. I was babysitting for a friend, and it was made extra delightful by what good buddies our little guys are. Despite a 2-and-a-half year age difference between them, they really click.

They colored the walkway and steps with chalk, dug in the dirt, made pretend dandelion soup, drove toy cars, had an imaginary food picnic, blew bubbles, and rocked out on toy pianos. Simon is really excited by everything his big buddy Isaac shows him how to do.

Having an older kid around me gives me a bit of a preview of what I am in for. I especially get a kick out of the humorous logic that 4-year-olds can have. “I drew myself with white eyes, because my eyes are white just like my Mom’s.”, I was matter-of-factly informed. And with sticks held up to the face in just the right way: “Look, I’m a triceratops!”

Fun stuff.

I had quite a good time hanging out with these two, following them from front yard to back yard, in the house and back out over and over, and keeping up with their twists and turns of play.

I admit though, after Isaac left and Simon was down for a nap…I collapsed into my bed and zonked right out, with great admiration for those with more than one child to care for every day.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

5 thoughts on “Two Plus Four

  1. thank you again for kindly volunteering! Isaac loves playing big brother 🙂 i am thankful our boys are buddies!

  2. Great photos of a fun play-date!

  3. Aww, Isaac. Cute boys!

Leave a Reply

