thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Me Time

3 Comments




Every so often, while Simon is napping, I will leave the baby monitor with Jeramy and sneak out to run errands. Sometimes I will get out just so that I can listen to some music and sing in the car, and have a bit of a break. This is one of the perks of having a husband who works nights: he is home during the day for me to be able to do this.

So today I stepped out the door into the sunny day, sang my heart out to some Florence and the Machine, and had a little me time. First I went shopping, and tried on clothes that I had no intention of buying, but that I thought might be fun just to try- like playing dress-up for grownups. Then I grabbed a strawberry smoothie for lunch , and drove around a bit more before heading back home to do some watercolor painting.

Sure, I could have folded a pile of laundry, or swept and mopped my kitchen during this time. Personally, however, I prefer to do chores later in the day, and to keep naptime as a time out for Mumma too. This leaves me feeling rejuvenated to tackle the second half of my day. Sometimes I nap too. Sometimes I pay the bills. Sometimes I simply zone out on Pinterest for a little while. Most often I take a shower and take my time getting dressed. Naptime is a sacred part of the day for me. It is the equivalent of a lunch break if I were working outside the home. Time to relax a little and to take care of my own needs, so that when Simon wakes up again, I can dive back into parenting with fresh energy.

Simon won’t take naps forever, so while he is still little, I intend to enjoy my breaks.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “Me Time

  1. sounds like wonderful afternoon out! like the first pic 🙂

  2. Me too! Naptime is sooooo wonderful. I love your nail polish.

  3. It is so sad when the naps stop! Totally agree with getting some me time!!!

    BTW, not sure if you every do blog-hops/link-ups but I think your last post (with the puree lids) would be great for the theme of this one. I bet you would get some traffic… http://handsonaswegrow.com/2012/04/busy-play.html

Leave a Reply

