thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Haircuts

5 Comments

As you might have noticed in yesterday’s post, Simon got a haircut on Sunday.


Simon’s crazy hair is becoming somewhat of a trademark for him, however some of the whispies were falling well over his eyes.

My Dad (Simon’s Papa) has been a barber, cosmetologist, and even a cosmetology teacher throughout his life. Until just a couple of years ago, he was the only one who had ever cut my hair. He doesn’t have as much time or desire to do haircuts now though, as he has another career, so I finally dared to find someone else for my own hair cut and style needs.

However, Simon is a fairly shy and nervous kid, so when his hair starts to get too shaggy for his comfort, we call in Papa.

I should probably add that Simon was born with quite the full head of hair, see:


And within his first couple months:


He isn’t even two yet and I have lost count of how many haircuts he has had.

Anyway, my Mom (Simon’s Mimi) was able to hold Simon on her lap while my Dad did the haircut, and Simon didn’t even squirm one bit! He is usually very twitchy and impatient about haircuts, but this time around it was as though he has finally got the hang of this whole business. Sure, he turned his head around a lot, but I think he was mostly trying to see what was happening.


So now my boy has a face again. I’m sure it won’t take too long before I am putting in a desperate call to my Dad and his scissors again, though. (My Dad reads this blog, so Thanks Dad!!!)

Perhaps inspired by my little guy, I got my own haircut today. I had been trying to grow it out for some time now, hoping for some incredible long, flowing locks to form. But I am just too impatient, and I was already slipping back into the ponytail rut that I was in for Simon’s entire first year of life (and then some).


I really had no idea what I was going to ask for until yesterday morning. I looked online for some inspiration, and went off to see my hairstylist, with a few pictures to show her for inspiration. I ended up going pretty short again, into sort of a bob. The cut has a lot of pieceyness to it, which I like. I can either sleek it out with my flatiron or throw in some waxy stuff and make it super chunky.


It feels nice to have a little change, and I am sure my little guy is happy to be able to see the world better.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

5 thoughts on “Haircuts

  1. love the first picture!

  2. Why can’t I ever get THAT hair cut!!! Love it! & love the infant pic, awww! Just the opposite of my kids – my son is 4 and has just 2 cuts!

  3. Sassssssy!

  4. Pretty hair!

    Also, I think Simon is simply the cutest!

  5. Me too! That’s the hair I’ll have if my hair ever grows out. Sigh. It looks super cute on you, and so does the color.

Leave a Reply

