thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Buggle Food

9 Comments

It has been ages since I wrote a post about toddler food. That was one of the topics that got me to start this blog, back in September, so I decided I really ought to remedy this.

Here are some various Simon meals from the last few months:

Whole grain crackers with almond butter, dehydrated apple chips, and mandarin orange pieces.

Honey wheat sticks with hummus, cheese chunks, and chopped black olives. (Simon LOVES olives!)

A bagel quarter spread with almond butter, dehydrated apple pieces, and mandarin orange pieces. (Not too different from the first one.)

Yoghurt with baby food fruit and veggie puree stirred in, banana and apple slices for dipping.

Chicken pineapple quelsadilla triangles for dinner, and we allowed him a couple of tortilla chips. (He surprisingly didn’t go for the chips, but ate ALL of his quelsadilla!)

Leftover quelsadilla for lunch the next day with chopped tomato and cheese chunks.

These are all just normal, everyday things I might feed him, some take a bit more prep time than others. I try to incorporate or duplicate what I am eating for him, since I don’t really believe that kids should be given a totally separate  diet from their parents. However, sometimes he naps through my lunch, or in the morning I am still a zombie while he is devouring breakfast, so breakfast and lunch can differ from what I am having quite a bit, while dinner is often just a toddler portion of our meal.

For more ideas of food for toddlers/kids check out my “Buggle Food” board on Pinterest. I find a lot of inspiration online for creative ways to plan meals for him, and I save them all there.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

9 thoughts on “Buggle Food

  1. i am sending my child over to your house for lunch and dinner every day, okay? 🙂

  2. These meals sound and look delicious, Simon is one lucky kiddo. I think it is awesome that his meals incudes all the food groups, way to go mommy!!

    • I do try to get them all in there, especially fruits and veggies and protein. My general rule of thumb is: Simon should’t have any meals without at least one fruit or veggie. However, occasionally our day is crazy and he ends up with just a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch…those days I feel a tad guilty, but I think as long as that is few and far between it will be ok.

  3. Great idea with the dehydrated fruit chips. I haven’t offered my toddler this yet.

  4. Hooray for buggle food! My kid wants to eat everything we eat. He won’t have it any other way! It helps keep me accountable for fixing healthy meals when I know he is going to pilfer my plate. 😉

    • That is awesome! most parents seem to struggle to get their kids to eat anything but “kid food” (ie: chicken nuggets, potatoes, macaroni and cheese etc.)

      Simon does pretty well, but he has picky days. It doesn;t help that his appetite is less by dinner time, when I serve the more adventurous things.

  5. Great meals! Great Mumma!

Leave a Reply

