thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Being Mindful

11 Comments

He tucked ALL of his little people and animals properly into bed.

“Mindful parenting is not an easy journey. But it is a worthy one. It requires constant de-cluttering. Good things quickly drown out essential things. So I log off the computer. Let the phone ring unanswered. Say no to the list of to-dos on my calendar. Say yes to the question, “Mama, can you play?” Here I don’t try to get something done during baby’s nap. I hold him. Watch him. Breathe in. Breathe out with him. Be still with him.” ~Arianne of Still Parenting via rhythm of the home blog

It is funny to think, isn’t it, that something like simply being present in a moment can require practice? But it does. I find that at times I get rusty, and have to put in extra effort to slow down, turn off the distractions, and just be. It is always worth it when I do.

This is a new week, with a new set of tasks and moods. This week I want to try to focus more, and spend more time living in the moments that I am given.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

11 thoughts on “Being Mindful

  1. Thought you might enjoy this: http://fivecrookedhalos.blogspot.com/2012/03/sometimes.html Along the same lines of your post today.

  2. Especially love staying with sleeping child!

  3. This is something that I think all people, especially moms struggle with I know I do. We have so many jobs/duties such as laundry, meal preparation, changing bedding, changing diapers, cleaning the house, running children around, etc. that we simply become distracted. It is so difficult to slow down, I know my mind is always going back to the “to do” list. Thank you for this post; it just helped me realign my priorities today. Today Legos come before laundry!

  4. This is great! When I’m spending time with my kids, I try to block out all of the things that “need done.” Cuddling and spending time with my little ones is much more important!

  5. I love your blog. Makes me wish you lived next door, LOL. Totally flattered you quoted me. Wave!

  6. Mindfulness requires practice because we are living in a “out-there in the past or in the future” culture, while the most important things are within us and right now.

Leave a Reply

