thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Recovering

8 Comments



We have returned home from our time in the hospital. Simon is doing much better, and we are now caring for him here with nebulizer treatments and lots of TLC. It has been a quite stressful and frightening time for this little family, and though we are not in the clear yet, it is reassuring to be in our own environment where Simon can get a full night of rest in his own comfy bed. Though I am truly thankful for the care the medical staff gave to us, there were some moments when I was tempted to grab my baby and make all the treatments, x-rays, tests, equipment, and yucky medicines go away.

I am hoping that he will wake up tomorrow with no wheezes in his lungs, and a more rested and relaxed disposition.

At this moment I am thankful for:
~The invention of baby monitors. Ours will remain right beside me on full volume tonight.
~The rejuvenating pleasure of a shower and clean clothes upon returning home.
~Family and friends who offer healing thoughts, prayers, and favors.
~My husband, who is a wonderful father, a talented comforter, and the other half of my brain.
~Those who left us well-wishing messages.
~Coffee ice cream with chocolate shell topping.
~Flinging the windows open upon our return, and feeling the fresh air blow through the apartment.
~The sense of calm I am finding in just being home.

And of course, for my baby being better today than he was yesterday.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

8 thoughts on “Recovering

  1. Sorry to hear of such a sudden turn of events. I’ll keep you all in my prayers. I do hope he is better soon.

  2. So glad to hear he’s doing better! I remember such an overwhelming feeling of gratitude when I was in the hospital with Baby Monkey that these people could take care of my baby, and at the same time, that similar desire to scoop him up and get the heck outta there. Hoping for continued, quick recovery and a return to normal for all of you!

  3. So glad to hear he’s doing better. Sometimes I think little ones being sick is harder on the parents then the little one. Never easy anyway.

    Hoping for a very quick recovery.

  4. sending warm and healing thoughts your way, and a full and speedy recuperation for your kiddo.
    big hugs,
    d

  5. I’m just catching up on some blog reading and I saw this… I’m so glad he’s home but so sorry he’s been so sick =(

  6. poor baby! what an ordeal! happy to hear you are all home. your home will be a much more calming and comforting place for him to recover, along with Drs. Mom & Dad.

  7. Glad your home and your son is improving! Like your thankful list : )

  8. Pingback: Tuckered Out « thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

