thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

So Fast

7 Comments





I have spent my morning daydreaming about a certain birthday party. We are now less than two months away from having a two-year-old in this family.

I cannot even believe my tiny baby is already this feisty little boy.

Lately, when he is in a good mood, a typical conversation of Simon’s will go something like this: “Daddy’s silly! Mumma’s silly! Simon’s silly! Raaaaarrrr!

When he is in a grouchy mood, it will be like this: “Up! Up! Up! No up! Down! Down! Color color color! No color! Away! Up! No! Down! Again! More! Away! Noooo coloooor!!!!!“.  (This is usually promptly followed by a nap.)

As a mother, I am trying to continue learning to peacefully yet firmly get him through the grouchy times, and to be sure to take time to listen and enjoy the more pleasant moods. His imagination is blowing Jeramy and I away right now, as are the daily strides in vocabulary. He knows what he likes, he has strong little opinions, and he expresses them. Freely. He laughs a lot, and shares his humor with us. He is affectionate, yet stubborn. He likes books, and art, and music, and food, and being outside, all passions that are shared by Mumma and Daddy.

This little guy of mine keeps me on my toes, but I would not have it any other way.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “So Fast

  1. Love! My little one cracked me up yesterday. She knows a good amount of words, but kept running up to me, putting her face in my face with a totally intense expression, and speaking to me in these long gibberish-y but very conversation-like sentences. And then her serious expression would crack, and she would laugh hysterically, like she knew she was talking to me in silly talk. It was the best.
    Sounds like your boy has an amazing, complex personality, and I know how wonderful it feels to watch a child’s imagination blossom… enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

  2. hey, my son is less than 2 months away from his 2nd birthday too! When is your son’s birthday?

  3. Such an exciting time to watch them turn into who they will be. I guess the process never really ends, but it’s wonderful to watch them develop a personality! Especially such a strong one! 🙂
    http://amysreallife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

