thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

This February

4 Comments





February is so unusual this year. The usual snowstorms and cold, grey days have instead been replaced with conditions I am not used to expecting until early April in this part of the world.

Around me are hints of things to come: brilliant blue skies, streets soaked with melted snow, a pathway of deep mud. When I go out with my scarf on in the bright sunlight, I sweat and need to shed layers. I have been ordering my chai on ice instead of hot, and dreaming of things like picnics, beach walks, and open windows.

For now though, it shall remain just a taste. The weather report is showing snow for the weekend! A small amount, but snow all the same. Perhaps we will finally make a snowman of decent size? Or go for a trek without sinking in muck up to our ankles? Maybe we will get in some sledding at last?

Or maybe February will melt it all away as quickly as it came, determined to give us slush-and-cold-weary folks more weeks of early spring?

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

4 thoughts on “This February

  1. …and I sit here today, looking out the window at the snow, glad that it has finally come, but wishing it would stop, just for a few hours. It’s my 6 year old’s (wow, did I just say 6?) birthday and I don’t want his party to get snowed out. 😦 I’ve been looking forward to snow. Just not today! Figures!
    http://amysreallife.wordpress.com

    • It always blizzards on my birthday, something that really bummed me out many times in my life. Maybe you can all have a snowball fight or make a snowman in a party hat? I hope it all turns out well. 6! Oh my goodness someday mine will be 6!

  2. The mild winter has been fine with me! Like your photos – sky is so BLUE!

Leave a Reply

