thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Winter Doldrums

7 Comments





This has been one of the mildest Maine winters in my memory, and yet I find myself feeling a bit of the hum drum of it all. Darkness, cold, gray, and a lack of motivation. I am, and always have been, highly influenced by the seasons, and in winter I go into a sort of hibernation. I start my days more slowly, I feel less spontaneous, I accomplish less.

It has taken me a long time in life to come to truly understand this, and to accept it. This is just who I am, a person who might dash along at a rabbit’s pace come May and right into September, and who slows down like a tortoise all through Maine’s prolonged winter.

With this understanding and acceptance also comes the knowledge that I will have to fight a little bit harder for energy sometimes. Especially now that I am a mom. As tempting as hibernation is for adult me, my toddler feels cooped up in the house on these cold days, and needs a chance to get out under the winter sunshine while it is still shining. I try to get us out at least once a day. This is difficult without a yard to play in, and with so many extra layers to pile on, but I try hard to make it happen. Some days are just too cold for his little body, and therefore we have also been making a lot of art, reading stacks of books, and tapping into our imaginations for things like baby dolls riding on dinosaurs.

I have to admit though, I kind of like keeping our schedule more sparse in these post-Christmas weeks of winter. It makes the hectic days feel almost like a good shake up, and gives us more time to focus on cultivating a sense of calm here at home. I really am pining for spring, but winter is an opportunity to rest ourselves and seek stillness, which can be wonderful too, if we allow it to be.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “Winter Doldrums

  1. great pictures!

  2. Winter with one toddler is hard – and you are Maine! I remember I had to “get out” every day too! It is so hard too when there is nowhere to go because it’s winter!!! ugh! I have spent A LOT of time at the library and surrounding libraries!

    • The library is a terrific escape. Simon loves it because it is BIG and he can strut all over the place. (On the children’s floor where some noise is acceptable.) Since I work there it is less escape for me, so I should try taking him to the one a town over where our card works too, but it will be a different place.

  3. I’ve got the doldrums, as well. I’m enjoying the warmer winter, and not having to shovel out, but it’s not really “warm,” is it? Kinda gray and overcast, like we keep waiting for something to happen that never does. Is it winter? Is it spring? The limbo keeps me in a state of uncertainty. So, I get it completely.

  4. That’s one thing I don’t miss about living in the northeast… although summers are a living hell down here…

Leave a Reply

