thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

End of a Week

3 Comments




~I made it through leading the toddler art group today just fine. A friend helped me by watching Simon while I did the setting up, and some people even came. (Though, not as many as I had hoped for…but it is a starting point.) Now that I have the first week under my belt, I feel more confident. It is always a matter of just beginning something that is the most stressful for me, once I get over that hump I gain footing to continue with a goal.

~Simon has been having a bad case of separation anxiety, and has been a bit challenging lately. He needs to be held a lot more, and has more overreactions to things. (Ok, ok, they are more like complete meltdowns.) I do think I tend to handle it all well, however it can be quite overwhelming when you are the one and only person the child wants for everything.

~I have to say, I was smiling pretty big when we were walking through downtown today, hand-in-hand, me with a bag of new library books and the diaper bag on one shoulder, and he with his art project in hand. He was strutting along, proud to be carrying his creation. It felt a little bit like I was walking my child home from a day at kindergarten.

~Along the way a quite rotund squirrel popped out of the bushes next to us, and Simon pointed and yelled: “A Mouse!!!“. Of course, we had to stop a moment for him to stare at it in wide-eyed wonder. (I explained what it actually was, and this evening he mentioned the “Skirl” to Daddy.”

~I am now sitting on my living room floor, with my watercolors and a cup of peppermint tea. Ahhhhh.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “End of a Week

  1. Sounds like a successful day! I definitely remember the days when I was the only thing that would do for one child or another, and how exhausting it could be…particularly when you know there is someone else there who could do for them, but they won’t allow it. It’s a lot of responsibility and very emotionally draining. This, too, shall pass. 🙂
    http://amysreallife.wordpress.com

  2. So glad sounds like your class went well! Little kids are so sweet! Everything new – seeing a squirrel : )

Leave a Reply

