thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

To Ask

5 Comments


I have been sick. I have the worst cold/flu/thingy I have had in quite some time. My sense of time and day have been blurred by the fact that I have been sleeping, laying about, and resting nonstop (when possible) for several days. Today is the first sign of improvement, and the first time that my mind is not so clouded by this illness that I feel I can actually write something coherent here.

It is really hard to be the sick one when you are the Mumma. I am always prepared to slow things down when needed for my little one, but when it is for me I get impatient and frustrated. I also find myself wrestling with guilt when I ask for help. Logically, I know I have every right, but my emotional side always feels I should be the caretaker, not the one in need of extra care. These feelings are compounded by the fact that Jeramy works outside the home, often in overtime, while I primarily stay home; I know what I do during the day is not always easy, but not a single one goes by where I am not aware of how lucky I am to be the one in this family to do so. I certainly hope I never give the impression of taking this all for granted, as I never do.

For now though, while I recover, I have to allow myself permission to rest, to ignore the outside world, and…to ask.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

5 thoughts on “To Ask

  1. Oh I hope you feel better really soon! I feel your pain. I HATE being sick not only because it just plain sucks, but also because I the same guilt. I also work primarily from home and my husband works in the office. I too am so lucky to get to stay home with my boys…. I try to remind myself when things are crazy around here how truly fortunate I am.

  2. Keep drinking that tea & feel better!

    I know how you feel, my husband works 2 jobs for my “very less than one”. I try not to think of it that way because we are a team, right?!

    • Exactly! We each do our part. If things ever changed and I had to work while he stayed home I would do it. Though I would miss this!!! I am lucky to have such a respectful partner who recognizes my effort.

Leave a Reply

