thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Snow Day

9 Comments









Today we got a decent amount of snow, and it finally feels like a Maine January out there. The day started with Jeramy arriving home from work surprising me with a chai and a donut for breakfast, and ended with me not having to go to work as was originally scheduled. I felt like a little kid getting a snow day from school again when I checked my messages and heard the magic words: “You don’t need to come in.”

Simon and I went out into the middle of it all, after I bundled him up to about twelve times his normal size. It was an awful lot of bundling for the twenty or so minutes we lasted out there, but when you are only one-and-a-half, that can be a long time to play out in  a snowfall.

I wrapped the camera up in a scarf and slipped Jeramy’s boots on my feet to sneak out for some photography during Simon’s nap. I found it quite difficult though, with the snowflakes coming down to keep my camera safe from moisture, so I had to give up after just a few minutes. How do people take those awesome shots of snow swirling all around them without ruining their cameras?

Today also marks exactly 2 weeks until I am no longer in my twenties. I am having quite a bit of anxiety over the number looming on the horizon, let me tell you.

Right now though, I am simply relaxing on this snow day. I have decided to take the day off from any tasks that can wait till tomorrow, and do something creative instead…or maybe I will just curl up with a movie…snow days are made for relaxing.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

9 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. I can smell the snow. When I look at these photos, I can feel the crisp air and the chill that you bring through the door as you leave your boots on the rug. Just beautiful. Thanks for documenting!

  2. Your photos capture the quiet freedom of a snow day so well! My favorite is the one of the clothespins.

  3. oh my…look at all of that snow. So beautiful!!

  4. Beautiful Beautiful photos!
    I love taking photos in snow/rain, but have never managed to keep my camera dry either…which is quite frustrating. Thanks for the scarf idea…it can only help. 😀
    Hope you have a wonderful lazy snow day. (:

  5. Snow day here as well! Going to take a bath and read… Life is awesome.

Leave a Reply

