thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

In With The New

4 Comments

 





Now that we are out of the holiday zone, I find I have a little more time to reflect on change. Christmas brought new memories and new toys (for all three of us!), and New Years Eve got us thinking about resolutions. (Though I am still reluctant to call any of my current goals resolutions.) I have a new sewing machine, with which to pursue a new hobby, as well as a spankin’ new camera so that I can improve my photography (and this blog). I even changed my hair cut and color (bangs and purple!).

All of these little changes have me wondering what my continuing journey in motherhood will bring me by this time next year. My child keeps challenging me, delighting me, making me laugh and making me speechless. (Sometimes all of those within ten minutes!) Who is this little person going to unfold to become? What will I learn about my own strengths and dreams as we go along? What adventures will we embark on together in 2012?

Sometimes I still get that little New Parent fear of “When do the real parents take him away?” because it all feels too much like a dream at times. Some days I look down by my knees, see the little human there and think: “When did I get a kid of my own? Is he real?” It is too amazing and somewhere deep inside I worry that I will wake up and it will all go *poof*.

So here we start a new year, a new list of goals, milestones, places to travel, traditions to celebrate, and lessons to learn. And through it all, I hope to stay mindful, to look around me and soak it all in, and, of course, to blog about it.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

4 thoughts on “In With The New

  1. Well I used to wonder the same things when you were born. But alas, you are still here and look how you have turned out! You will always be amazed by your children… even when they are grown. We can now be amazed at your little one who is our treasure too! The journey is just beginning.
    Dad

  2. I do that too- look at my kids and say how did you get here?!!! The New Year – full of potential : ) Best Wishes with your new theme and new cut (like both)!

  3. liking the now look. The banner image looks like a mini-snowman. Oh BTW Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

