thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Resolve

2 Comments

I have always found this week between Christmas and New Years to be an interesting dichotomy. We are not totally prepared to commit to our resolutions yet, however we have most likely already decided what they will be. Christmas is over, yet we are not quite ready to part with the decorations and the tree. As a little girl, I remember refusing to put any of my presents in my room until New Years because I was not prepared yet to mingle the old with the new and, in my mind, robbing the new of specialness.

We are in the midst of a strange lull. A valley between the peaks of two holidays. Many people are still on vacation from work or school, or are returning from travel. We’re more lazy, and not quite ready to move on. For some reason the ball needs to drop, and the calendar page to turn, for our full motivation to kick in so we can start living in the ways we have been planning all week.

I know this isn’t the case for everyone, but it is a theme I see for many around me, and one that I tend to fall into. I mentioned this to Jeramy last night, asking him why resolutions don’t start right when we decide on them, but instead wait for a specifically defined time, as though we think the universe will align just right with the falling of a silver ball in New York City. He told me his theory, that human nature is for people to blame their problems on time and geography. For me though, it is not so much about problems or blame as it is about procrastination.

So I suppose this line of questioning has helped me realize what my resolution should be. To stop waiting for just the right time. To spend less time planning, and more time in action. To stop thinking about the person I’d like to be, or the lifestyle I wish for us to have, or the dreams I hope will come true, and instead to begin the necessary steps. If I keep waiting for conditions to be perfect, or a pile of money to fall from the sky into my lap I will be waiting forever. I want to teach Simon that people have the power to make their own life. I am choosing to start today.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “Resolve

  1. That is one of the big problems with resolutions isn’t it – why wait to make a positive change?!!! Good luck with your goals & BTW, I like your new bangs!

Leave a Reply

