thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Solstice

3 Comments


I woke yesterday morning to a world covered in a light dusting of frost and ice. This seemed an appropriate way to begin the shortest day of the year.

I had been dreaming of this Solstice day for weeks, planning that we would start the new tradition of a family feast with candles, and a nod to the cycles of nature that affect our lives. I had thought Simon and I would do some crafts together, that I would hang some decorations, and perhaps at the end of the day we would all sip tea or cocoa together and read a story with a winter or evergreen theme.


None of this happened as I had been hoping. Instead it became a day of running errands out in the cold rain. A day of picking up some mac and cheese from a local bakery to gobble down quickly before Simon’s bedtime. And a day of Jeramy having to leave early for work instead of having some time to spend together before his departure.

At first I felt badly about this. Then, I chose joy instead. Sure, this may not have been the day I had longed for, but we can try again next year. And we may have been driving here and there, but at least we were all three together. We may not have eaten a home cooked meal, but at least we did have a family dinner. And despite Jeramy having to leave early, he was still home long enough to tuck our little one into bed with me.

As we were driving back to town, Simon kept crying out “Again!” each time the song “Graveyard” by Feist would end on the CD we were playing during the ride. Jeramy and I humored him, and hit replay as many times as our parental patience would allow. As we listened, the words she sang: “Bring them all back to life…” seemed very fitting for the winter solstice.



So the day wasn’t the perfect solstice celebration I had hoped for. But it was still a good day, in its own way. I hope yours was too.
Happy Solstice!

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

3 thoughts on “Solstice

  1. Watched the Fiest video….tears in my eyes and thinking of my brother. Thank you….
    Dad

  2. It’s the thought that counts…you honored this beautiful Holiday in your heart and soul by choosing to be Joyful…congrats! You sound like a grateful and strong woman…I am glad to know you. Thank you for your honesty and for sharing your day with us. ~ Barefoot Mama

    • What a neat idea – a solstice celebration! I might add that to my wish list for next year too : ) Love the photos and the gift wrap! BTW you are like my Pinterest style-maker!

Leave a Reply

