thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

The Bustle

1 Comment


Amanda Blake Soule recently blogged about the difficulty of blogging what you have been up to this time of year. You might be planning and making many crafty things, but due to the secrecy required by the holiday you are unable to share it.

So…I have been MIA from posting for a couple of days. It has been 2 parts secrecy, 1 part migraine, and 1 part bustling about. My to-do list is ten miles long, and my time for completion is slipping away from me quickly. For now, here are a few of the holiday goings-on around here that I can share.


~I picked up a Stollen with marzipan filling to have with Christmas morning brunch. The Stollen is an old family tradition on my Mother’s side. As a girl, I always looked forward to the one that would come in a holiday package from my Oma and Opa, and it would usually be part of my Christmas morning breakfast. The brunch with my family is a new tradition, started since Simon was born. It is wonderful that my Mom, Dad, and Brother are willing to come to us, so that we don’t have to rush and ready the baby in the morning.

~I have an evening with a friend planned for later in the week, on which we will sip tea, watch a movie, and make handmade Christmas bows for wrapping presents. I have sworn off the purchasing of gift wrap from here on out (Hellooooo Trader Joe’s bags!), so making bows from what I have on hand will be perfect. As will a ladies night in.


~We also have plans for this week to bring Simon to a local business that decks out their building in lights set to music. I think he will find it quite amazing.

~Every evening I get to sit in the colorful lights of my Christmas Tree, and it makes me happier. I wish it could live with us year-round. Perhaps I will string up some fairy lights to enjoy, even after Christmas is over.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

One thought on “The Bustle

  1. Nice pictures – I’m intrigued by your secrecy too! It is nice that you keep up some family traditions and that you will see your family (most of my family is in FLA now). I’ve also got a crazy week – Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

