thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Here we “go”…

9 Comments


Just beaming with motherly pride right now. My little guy has made some major strides in potty training. I continue to be swept off my feet in amazement at the capabilities of this tiny person. This person, who has only been around for 19 months, and the constant change he provides to our days is just incredible.

This parenting gig, just when you think you are starting to settle into it, they like to go and throw something new at you. I am learning to follow his lead, rather than to always be the one guiding… Learning to shrug my shoulders and ask: “Why not?“, instead of insisting upon following paths paved with preconception.

No idea you have in your head, no book, no tales from other parents, can prepare you for the days when your child takes you by the hand, whether literally or figuratively, and leads you off in the next new direction.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

9 thoughts on “Here we “go”…

  1. Nicely put! That’s my parenting style too. BTW, we love Everyone Poops : )

    • BTW, thanks! Just saw you put my post on your current inspiration – way cool!!! Also are you on Twitter yet?

    • Haha, it is fantastically gross! I picked it especially for the depictions of defecation in action, because Simon was getting nervous about actually DOING it. I don’t know if it was coincidence or not but we had the book and then he did it!!

  2. GREAT post! also love the new layout πŸ™‚

  3. I worked at a bookstore when Everyone Poops came out–a true classic. And my oldest is 23 and youngest 17 and they’re still throwing new stuff out there. It’s always entertaining and often educational. πŸ˜‰

  4. LOL thanks for sharing the latest poop on your new adventure with
    the boy!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

