thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Time Capsule

7 Comments


My husband Jeramy says I have a knack for picking odd times to do things around the house. The truth is, I am a night owl at heart, and it isn’t until the evening hours that my motivation really kicks in. Before I quit one of my jobs and was home more, I was really hard on myself about my lack of ability to get much done until 1 or 2 in the afternoon. When you have to head off to work by 4, this doesn’t leave much of a window, especially with a little one getting up from a nap about that time.

So I often find myself running the vacuum at 9 o’clock at night, or cleaning our the fridge at 10:45. It just seems to be the way I operate. Last night, when the clock read 10:30, I started putting some clean dishes away, which led me down the road of reorganizing a drawer. You see, we have a dedicated “Simon drawer” where all of the sippy cups, baby medicine droppers, pacifiers, and such live. The problem is, that drawer hasn’t been gone through since Simon was born, which means that it still housed bottles, breast milk storage containers, and all manner of other items we haven’t needed for him in months.

While trying to fit another clean sippy in there, and finding it hard to cram it in, I got frustrated and decided to pull absolutely everything out, and start fresh. I found a time capsule of babyhood in that drawer. As I packed away the breast pump pieces (to save for the baby number 2 I hope to have someday) I was flooded with memories of our nursing days. When I shifted the pile of bottles, I found the hospital bracelets that he and I wore on his day of birth, and found myself remeniscing about the tiny 5lb. 13oz. baby who came along and turned his parents into a weeping mess, as we were overcome with joy and fear at our new parenting adventure.

I put all of the items that I am saving into a jumbo Ziploc bag to stash in a trunk I am packing. (Except the bracelets which will go into a trinket box.) As I tucked them in among the outgrown newborn sweaters and the maternity clothes, I thought to myself what it might be like for Simon to welcome a baby brother or sister, and for Jeramy and I to begin again with a fresh set of emotions, as a second little person is placed into our arms.

I put the items that cannot be reused into the recycling bin, and felt twinges of sadness at the thought that Simon’s babyhood is behind us. Toddlerhood is wonderful, and I am loving it wholly. Sometimes though, I miss the days of rocking my little one in my arms and stroking his head full of whispy infant hair as I fed him. Or that tiny, helpless cry that infants have, and the peculiar way Simon liked to be bounced in our arms.



The drawer is now tidy, with plenty of space for the things we now use daily. Elmo plates, dinosaur sippy cups, and a Peter Rabbit bowl, easy to grab when needed. I am sure that many more months down the road these will give way to a new set of items. Perhaps his very own set of baking tools and a tiny apron? Or possibly by then it will be taken over by someone new to this family?

I had no idea when I set out to do some late-night chores, that I would end up opening a drawer filled with memories and dreams.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

7 thoughts on “Time Capsule

  1. Oh my goodness. That last picture is priceless.

    And I also always get myself into random projects at weird hours. Eh, whatever works right?!

  2. Love it! It’s been a long time since I had a drawer filled with baby memories – thanks for bringing them back to me.

  3. What an absolutely precious picture! Thank you not only for your wonderful comment the other day on my post about children, but for this beautiful post as well. I love seeing topics like this because it shows how amazing and fulfilling being a mother is.

  4. Well done! I WISH I had that night owl talent… the amount of years I’ve convinced myself during the day… “tonight, I’ll file the bills, clean the cupboard, wash the…, craft the …,”only to fall asleep whilst reading the children their goodnight stories. Though I’ve just made enough Peppermint Bark to keep me up for a few nights… ahh bliss

Leave a Reply

