thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

Why Blog?

20 Comments

Today is the last day of NaBloPoMo, and I am proud to announce that I made it! I posted every. single. day. this month. I feel pretty darn accomplished right now.

I thought this might be a good time to address a question I have received a few times. Why blog? Why share things about my daily life, assuming other people will actually care?

Well, I blog for a few different reasons.
1-To focus on the positive. Though I do sometimes write about dilemmas or chaos that comes up in our lives, I purposely strive to keep that to a minimum. I will only write about it here if I feel others could relate. If I wanted to gripe, complain, or vent I would write that with pencil and paper and then either share it with my husband only, or chuck it afterward. For me, this daily practice of sitting down, opening a new word document, and planning a post, helps me to pay attention to the wonderful aspects of my daily living. What am I thankful for? What have I done recently that is creative? What little things are taking place around me, that I might overlook without this daily opportunity to get really focused? Writing about these things helps me to cultivate gratitude, and hopefully to spread the feeling around a bit.

2-To keep my memories. Time sure flies when you have a small child around, and writing about my experiences in motherhood helps me to organize the memories as they happen. I will be able to look back over these posts to see how our family is changing and growing over the years, and to reminisce on our experiences. Let’s face it, Mommy-brain makes it hard to remember everything that happened. I am also able to share these things with relatives who do not live nearby, or friends who we don’t see often enough. An Aunt and Uncle across the country can look into our daily life and share these memories as they are being made. Even the simple things, that might not come up in a phone conversation, such as Simon playing with his fabric scraps, can be shared in this way before they become forgotten.

3-To share creativity. I know that I love perusing other blogs and websites for ideas and inspiration. I love seeing what activities other parents are doing with their kids, what paintings other artists are working on, or what home organization solutions others have found. Just as I get inspired by other bloggers, I hope to share a little bit of my own creativity with the online world. I am very humble about this, often wondering if a post is “good enough” when it contains my sketches or projects. However, putting myself out there has really helped me build a little confidence.

4-To belong to a community. You often hear the phrase “blogging community”, and it is a very real thing. We bloggers tend to read each other’s work, share comments, and even get to know one another in this way. I have several new blog acquaintances, with whom I can commiserate, and share feelings and ideas, even when they are on the other side of the country. I think this is especially true in the “Mommy Blogger” category, and I know that when Simon was first born, I read many, many blogs written by new Moms, in order to feel less alone.

5-To write. I have been an almost daily writer ever since I could write simple sentences in crayon as a child. I always kept diaries, journals, notebooks, and eventually I started a Livejournal account in college. I somehow have always felt compelled toward writing, but did not fancy myself a great writer. Starting this daily blog has helped me make my writing a bit more polished. Instead of scribbling my emotions onto a journal page, I actually pay attention to things like grammar, vocabulary, and creative description. I still don’t think I am fantastic, but I have definitely honed my skills some. Writing is a good life skill to have. From a resignation letter, to a professional proposal, to a product description for an etsy shop, I find myself needing to rely on these skills occasionally, and therefore it is good to practice, practice, practice.

So…this is why I started this blog. Not to brag about my kid, or to have a diary of emotional blathering, but to actually create something worth sharing. I try to never write something that I don’t believe even a couple other people could relate to. I know my subject matter isn’t always for everyone, but I am ok with that. I am not trying to sell myself. My goal is only to share a little inspiration, and to practice mindfulness while I do it.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

20 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. Great reasons to blog! I love being able to keep up with my memories, and seeing what other people out there are creating. Thanks for the adive about posting the night before I am going to try to start doing that! Congrats on finishing the challenge!

  2. I wrote a post like this too in November. I think blogging is a great. It’s a fabulous outlet and one that I wouldn’t trade! I think what people need to understand is that we do what we find enjoyment in. Just like some people bake, or knit, or run, or scrap-book, or whatever, we blog because we find enjoyment in it.

  3. You go girl….. I hope you feel better after writing your piece.
    Thank you for sharing the valuable insight and inspiration!
    Anyone who does not see the value of what you do needs
    to do a little self evaluation. What you share is intellectually sound and heartfelt. I am proud of you!
    Your Father

  4. I’m glad I got to know you this month. I think you have some great things to share and I look forward to continuing to visit you blog!

  5. I am enjoying your blog so much, and look forward to many more great posts! Blogs are such a great way to see how truly similar we all really are.

  6. Great post! I love the community too πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear about your next adventures! Congrats!

  7. I agree with you wholeheartedly. I can not believe the opportunities, including being interviewed by an international magazine, that have found their way to me because of my blog, either. I have been extremely blessed by my little 3 year old blog.

    By the way, since you wrote that you open a word doc to write, have you ever looked into Windows LiveWriter??? It’s a free blogging program that lets you blog while offline and then lets you upload. Pics are easy to retrieve from a photobucket or flickr account through a plugin. Templates, links, and picture edits are easily made. Since you sync to your blog, even though you’re offline, you can see how your item is going to look within your blog’s theme. I highly, highly, highly recommend it. I am a much more efficient blogger since I started using it. http://explore.live.com/windows-live-writer Have a nice day.

  8. These are wonderful reasons to blog! I think your writing is really rather good, but I’m really liking your photography. oh, and recipes!

    I’m hoping that my blogging will improve my writing too.

    • I absolutely cannot wait to get a new camera in the new year so that my photography can get better. I dropped mine a while back and it can’t really focus in any mode other than the basic point/click…so i have to take 20 pics to get 1 good one. Stay tuned!

  9. Congratulations! I made it through every day, too, even if it was to just caption a photo because I ran out of time (or inspiration). I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts and checking out how your photography improves when you have a new camera! I’m a terrible photographer and rely on my husband to get the good shots. See you around!

  10. Pingback: A Reminder | thismummaslife

Leave a Reply

