thismummaslife

Motherhood, Art, Creative Play, and Finding Joy in Everyday Life

…and again

2 Comments

I am still having my mulligan week, and have found myself, once again updating about 12 hours later than is customary for me. This was an emotionally trying day, and returning home to my little one in his footy pajamas, “vacuuming” the kitchen with his pretend vacuum, and hearing him lovingly exclaim “Mumma!” made a lot of it better.

I don’t have many words today, so I am going to give you a quote that moved me this week. Leave it to Alanis to sum up my emotions now, just like she did when I was thirteen.

“But no, this motherhood business was my call to rise to. And mine alone. And there was no doula alive that could have reached in and taught me what I have learned through experience. There was no midwife who could show me how to grow up, warp-speed from complicated contemplative maiden to accountable matriarch. These things required months of growth and calibrating! And here I naively thought that I would arrive as a MOM at the same time as my lil’ boy arrived as a SON. The latter waaay preceded the former. But necessity precedes form sometimes.”-Alanis Morissette

Read the rest of Alanis’s words: here.

Author: thismummaslife

I am a Mumma, Wife and part-time Assistant Children's Librarian. I want this blog to be a collection of moments from daily life that may inspire or be relatable. Please feel free to leave me comments, thoughts, feedback or stories from your own life.

2 thoughts on “…and again

  1. I hope your week improves…at least it’s on the downhill now…

Leave a Reply

